Time Together: Me and Dad

4 Feb

Today’s book review is for Time Together: Me and Dad, written by Maria Catherine, illustrated by Pascal Campion, published by Picture Window Books (an imprint of Capstone Young Readers). It is scheduled for release on March 1, 2014. I received an electronic copy of this book from the publisher, through NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review.

Time Together: Me and Dad book cover

Time Together: Me and Dad is a lovely picture book for children ages 2-6. It highlights the bond between father and child through a series of snapshots of special moments. It’s an excellent reminder that simple daily activities are the things that often build the strongest memories.

Catherine’s writing is very simple. Rather than producing a narrative, she has chosen to present a series of moments to the reader. They range from “Quiet talking time” to “Wild ride time.” What I liked about her selection of activities is that they are varied and not mired in stereotypical gender roles. So, for example, Dad gets to participate in tea parties. It’s nice to see fathers portrayed as being involved in every facet of a child’s life.

What makes the book really beautiful, though, are Campion’s illustrations. He has such a nice style–where he uses painting techniques in his digital compositions. Each image is a depiction of a father and child who are close, physically and emotionally, and engaged in an enjoyable activity. Every father and child pair is a little different. Some children are girls and some are boys. The families are from various racial backgrounds. It’s a quiet acknowledgement of diversity, subtle and not promoting any stereotypes.

While the writing is a little thin, I do still think this book could have a place in homes and libraries. Even though there’s no real story, the book could be used to spark conversation about a child’s own experiences. Some discussion questions might be: which of the activities in the book did you like best? What are some of your favorite times with Dad? It would be a nice book to read for Father’s Day, as well, to celebrate the role of fathers in children’s lives. I’m giving the book 4 out of 5 stars because the book had lovely execution, and though it’s not a genre I usually enjoy, it pulled me in.

You can find more information about this book, including other reviews, at Goodreads.

16 Responses to “Time Together: Me and Dad”

  1. Alex Baugh February 5, 2014 at 12:59 pm #

    This sounds like a very nice book. Time together with a parent is so important and special for a child.

    • Destiny February 5, 2014 at 2:15 pm #

      Usually I go more for actual stories… but then I thought about some of the studies linking a child’s sense of self worth as a teen to how often their father gave them their bath. Which wasn’t so much about the father as father figure as it was about having at least two loving and engaged adults in a baby’s life. That they need to know, beyond a doubt, that more than one person loves them and wants to spend time with them. Reading about that made me realize that that sort of time together is even more important than I had realized.

      I also liked the Dad focus. So many of the toddler and pre-school books I read with my daughter are all about mother and child. It’s an important relationship, sure, but there are plenty of others that ought to be recognized and celebrated, as well.

      Thanks for stopping by.

  2. krissottoh February 5, 2014 at 7:01 pm #

    It’s nice to see for a change a focus on father and child. I have friends who are single fathers or both parents are fathers who would enjoy this. I’m stopping by from the kidlitbloghop.

    • Destiny February 5, 2014 at 9:27 pm #

      Exactly! I sometimes feel bad for kids who don’t have a mommy around… because so many books for kids focus on that relationship. Whereas it can be much harder to find books that celebrate the relationship between father and child.

      Thanks for stopping by. šŸ™‚

  3. saywhatsavannahmae February 5, 2014 at 7:08 pm #

    Stopping in from the Kit Lit Blog Hop!!! I love a good story spotlighting the father. it is important.

    http://www.saywhatsavannahmaekids.com

    • Destiny February 5, 2014 at 9:25 pm #

      Well, it’s more concept book than story… but spotlighting the father is important no matter what.

  4. Julie Grasso February 5, 2014 at 7:38 pm #

    Ooooh I am no envious of your netgalley discoveries….. This sounds really enchanting. As we know, illustration is often what really carries a book. I have read a couple of books with very sparse text or no text to Gigi lately and they are such a hit. I have a feeling she would actually love this because her Daddy is the most important man in the world so a book about him would be well received he he. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and for hosting the Kid Lit Blog Hop.

    • Destiny February 5, 2014 at 9:24 pm #

      I’m really fortunate to have developed good relationships with a few publishers over there that put out really great picture books. And it’s so exciting to see what is being published.

      Sometimes I tend to favor books with a story to tell (whether it’s got words or not)… but not all books have to be story books. After all, I adore my Audubon guides, knitting references, and cookbooks–none of which tell a story. This was definitely more of a concept book… but one that was really nice.

      At bedtime, my husband and I read a book together to our daughter. And so often the books are “mommy and me” types… which makes me feel badly. Her daddy is very involved in her life, and frankly, I think that he gives her more adventures than I do. But we, as a society, still seem to struggle to embrace the idea that there are other parental figures than mommy.

  5. Crystal Marcos February 5, 2014 at 9:29 pm #

    Thanks for sharing with the Kid Lit Blog Hop. My little girl would enjoy this book. She loves daddy time!

  6. Resh February 5, 2014 at 9:51 pm #

    I LOVE Pascal’s art work.. one look at the cover and i knew it was him! I havent seen him work on children’s books illustrations before, so this one is really one for me šŸ™‚ Thanks a ton for bringing it to my attention!
    -Reshama @ Stackingbooks

  7. snacksformax February 6, 2014 at 5:00 pm #

    I love the cover! There are plenty of dads out there who would love to see the role of father celebrated in this way. It sounds like the author/illustrator did a fantastic job of being all-inclusive in choosing images that look like every child.
    Thanks for the great link, Destiny, and for hosting the KLBH once again!

  8. Maria @ www.musicteachingandparenting.com February 7, 2014 at 7:22 pm #

    It sounds like a lovely book, the connection between a father and his child is so important. Thank you for the review!
    Maria

  9. Katie February 10, 2014 at 9:09 pm #

    I’ve been on the hunt recently for good dad-themed picture books, and this sounds like a great one! Thanks for sharing this with the Kid Lit Blog Hop and for hosting!

  10. Renee @ Mother Daughter Book Reviews February 11, 2014 at 7:50 am #

    I would have been all over this book when my kids were younger. I think that with books for little kids, a story is not quite as necessary. Sometimes just sharing images and a few thoughts per page is all they need to comprehend. I love how the book features different combinations of father-child including elements of cultural diversity. It sounds like it is really well done. Thanks for sharing in the Kid Lit Blog Hop. BTW, I steer clear of NetGalley – that would be a dangerous place for me!! lol

  11. ccarpinello February 13, 2014 at 6:25 pm #

    Thanks for sharing this. It does sound like a great book for Father’s Day. Cheryl, Hop Hostess

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Weekly Round-Up of Kid Lit Reviews and Posts: Week #4 | Mother Daughter Book Reviews - February 8, 2014

    […] Time Together: Me and Dad by Maria Catherine ~ Reading and Sharing […]

Leave a Reply

