It’s a Feudal, Feudal World

20 Nov

Today’s book review is for It’s a Feudal, Feudal World: A Different Medieval History, written by Stephen Shapiro, illustrated by Ross Kinnaird, published by Annick Press. I received an electronic copy of this book from the publisher, through NetGalley, in exchange for an honest review.

It's a Feudal, Feudal World book cover

It’s a Feudal, Feudal World is an innovative book that explores medieval history through infographics, cartoons, and lively text. It covers a wide range of topics, from life expectancy to siege methods. Throughout it makes a point to emphasize the contributions of both women and men, and to highlight the intercultural influences on the period. As a bit of a medievalist myself, I was thrilled to see how much detail was fit into such a short volume.

Shapiro clearly knows his material. Each page is filled with information to stimulate and engage young minds. It’s hard to find history dull, as presented by the author. That’s because all of the information is accompanied by jokes and bits of humor. The reason he’s able to include so much information is because rather than get bogged down in explanations of everything, he opts to use infographics to convey important data and ideas. After all, why read a description of a Viking longship when you can look at a diagram instead?

There’s an old saying that a picture is worth a thousand words. I’d say that in this case, it’s absolutely true. Kinnaird’s illustrations give life to this history. His cartoons grabbed me from the beginning and made me want to keep reading. They also helped me to understand concepts, such as how mills could be powered by various sources. And I loved the image of the librarian chained to his books–maybe because I could relate a little.

The book also contains a glossary, selected bibliography, and index to enhance the ways students are able to engage with the book. It has a great design and format.

I think this would make a great addition to a classroom or library that serves grades 4-7. It’s the sort of book that I wish had been around when I was growing up. It looks deceptively simple–it’s mostly pictures, and many of those are cartoons. However, anyone who reads it is sure to come away knowing far more than when they began. I’m giving it 5 out of 5 stars. It’s always nice when a book is able to successfully combine education and entertainment.

You can find more information about this book, including other reviews, at Goodreads.

7 Responses to “It’s a Feudal, Feudal World”

  1. marieclx November 20, 2013 at 4:18 pm #

    Sounds like a great resources – when learning about history, infographics really helps it stand out.

    • Destiny November 21, 2013 at 8:05 pm #

      I’m excited to see more books using infographics to convey ideas to children. It’s a great way to make information accessible and memorable.

  2. Julie Grasso November 21, 2013 at 6:30 pm #

    What a fabulous resource. I hope to see if on the bookshelf in my daughters school in about, ahhh 6 years lol, but if not, I will pin it for future reference. Thanks so much for joining us again on the Kid Lit Blog Hop

    • Destiny November 21, 2013 at 8:10 pm #

      I think our daughters are about the same age. 🙂
      I’m glad that I discovered the Kid Lit Blog Hop. It’s nice to get exposed to more books, but it’s even better to have the chance to meet other people who like to talk about children’s literature.

  3. stanleyandkatrina November 21, 2013 at 11:15 pm #

    Oh my goodness, I think my daughter would LOVE this. She loves history and recently has been into the Horrible History books – just for fun. This sounds right up her alley. Thank you so much for sharing your review on the Kid Lit Blog Hop! Have a wonderful rest of the week and weekend ahead!
    Cool Mom
    Tech Support for Stanley & Katrina

    • Destiny November 22, 2013 at 1:25 am #

      I love to hear about kids who love history! And this one does present it in such a fun manner. I haven’t heard of the Horrible History books, but now I’ll have to look into them. (So many great kids books! So little time!)

      Thanks for the well wishes. Right back at you!

  4. Renee @ Mother Daughter Book Reviews November 28, 2013 at 7:45 pm #

    Ooh, love it! I think my son would be all over this. This is precisely the type of book he adores. I’m pinning!!! Thanks for sharing in the Kid Lit Blog Hop.

Leave a Reply

